Making more space…

September 10, 2012

With more space comes more clutter…

I managed for a short while after doing my first round of very rudimentary organization (Making space)

Then good fortune shined when a friend decided to completely redo his home interiors. His interior designer categorically ripped up and discarded nearly all existing furnishings. The good soul offered the chance to come and reclaim anything that might be of use. Two trips and I now have a whole bunch of old wooden doors and kitchen cabinet doors and plywood backing and cabinet shelves and cupboard drawers… a lot of used wood.

Since a lot of it was quite literally ripped out and not dismantled there are many pieces with torn out edges, long cracks running across, twists & sags and nails & screws & handles & hinges. Also almost all of it is average quality blockboard. But I am drifting… the fact is that all this stuff was finally dumped in my room taking up entire corners and the entire floor space in my room. End result back to square -1.

I became very good at tiptoeing over stuff and my maid refused to grace my room with her all powerful broomstick. I kept putting a second round of organization off until I completed my table saw stand which took so long since I was treating it as an experimental project for trying out new stuff.

Finally with the table saw stand done I decided to get down to cleaning up. So I went to S P Road and picked up a bunch of slotted angles to make relatively inexpensive and strong racks. Overall dimensions: H x L x D – 7 ft x 4 ft x 2 ft, with 5 shelves

This is the final result…
image

The before can be visualized by taking all the vertically piled stuff and putting it all on the ground in the entire floor space shown in the photograph. The shelves are actually the cabinet doors recovered from my friends place lying across the slotted angle skeleton. You can see the table saw stand I made standing on the right.

I was happy with the result and the strength of the final structure. So I went ahead and got more of this stuff to make storage space in my small front entrance parking space. That is where I store the long doors and small wood scrap and stuff.

A photo of the outside storage shelves. Overall dimensions: H x L X D – 3 ft x 7 ft x 2 ft

2 Responses to “Making more space…”

  1. Wow! Brother not bad at all!! “Refused to grace the room”… had me on the floor :). But seriously, the racks look like grade A stuff!! Proper good show yo!! 🙂

Leave a comment